Gust Rosenfeld Arizona
Gust Rosenfeld Phoenix Gust Rosenfeld Wickenburg Gust Rosenfeld Tucson
  SEARCH

Making It Rain in July

By Robert D. Haws, Attorney, Gust Rosenfeld P.L.C., July 14, 2014

The Maricopa County Superior Court has ordered the State of Arizona (see decision) to increase per pupil base funding by approximately 5% for the coming fiscal year, a collective increase for schools of about $317 million. This increase will apply to future years as well, boosting the overall value of the decision to about $1.6 billion over the next five years.

The trial court will also conduct an evidentiary hearing to determine whether the state will have to make an additional $1.3 billion in back payments to schools as a result of the Legislature's failure to implement a voter approved ballot measure that required annual inflation adjustments to the school funding formula.

For more information, please contact one of our school attorneys below:

Robert D. Haws - 602.257.7976 - rhaws@gustlaw.com
James T. Giel - 602.257.7495 - jgiel@gustlaw.com
Nicholle Harris - 602.257.7451 - nharris@gustlaw.com
Shelby M. Exposito - 602.257.7498 - sExposito@gustlaw.com
Jennifer N. MacLennan - 602.257.7475 - maclennan@gustlaw.com
Eric McGlothlin - 602.257.7453 - emcglothlin@gustlaw.com
Kimberly M. McIntier - 602.257.7473 - kmcintier@gustlaw.com
Fred H. Rosenfeld - 602.257.7413 - rosenfeld@gustlaw.com
Scott W. Ruby - 602.257.7432 - swruby@gustlaw.com
Susan Plimpton Segal - 602.257.7425 - spsegal@gustlaw.com
Sarah C. Smith - 602.257.7458 - ssmith@gustlaw.com
Timothy A. Stratton - 602.257.7465 - tstratton@gustlaw.com

©2017 All Rights Reserved Gust Rosenfeld P.L.C.      RECRUITMENT |  OFFICES |  DIVERSITY |  LEGAL NOTICE